SanuraI had heard about the pet aggro issues before, but I had always chalked it up to post-patch paranoia. Then, I read about the Charge nerf.  I didn’t think too much about it at the time, because I’ve never used a Boar before.  Not my cup of tea, I guess.

But I have never experienced any pet aggro issues since the patch.  That is, until last night.  I’ve been doing dailies and grinding some with my pet cat Sanura.  And she’s been leveling up from 66 all the way to 70.  And as long as I let her get 3K or so of aggro built up (using Omen) before engaging the mob, I would usually be ok.  For this, I would normally turn off Claw, and just have Dash and Growl active.  This was to make sure that she would have enough focus to get that 2nd or 3rd Growl off.  And from levels 66 through 69, she would easily get 3K threat within just a few seconds.  But I noticed that once she hit level 70, it was taking 10 seconds or longer, and that each Growl was producing less threat.  Then I remembered to train her with the level 70 Growl, Rank 8.  Well, this did not solve the problem.  In fact, according to Omen, Growl Rank 8 was producing the same amount of aggro as Growl Rank 7.  Now, I know the actual numbers from Omen are not exact.  And for all I know, they may be inaccurate.  But I do know that my pet was holding aggro better at level 66 through 69 than she is at level 70!

I’d like to do some more testing on this, just to make sure.  But I do know that once she hit 70 last night, while I was doing dailies on Isle of Quel’Danas, that aggro suddenly became a problem.  And the amount of threat she was generating in Omen was almost cut in half.  This is seriously distrubing, and I hope that Blizzard is using pets of multiple levels to track this problem down.  I wonder if it has anything to do with the pet skill inconsistencies that Mania spoke of.

What are your thoughts?  Has anyone else experienced similar results?  Anyone have any 60 to 69 pets that they would like to test this out with?